If you are a teenager in Florida who is just getting your learner's permit, you may wonder if you can purchase a car. The answer is yes, you can purchase a car with a Florida learner's permit, but there are a few things to know first. You can buy a car using cash if you only have a learner's permit, but financing is tricky. It's important to know Florida laws on purchasing a car with a learner's permit when you're in the used or new car market as a first-time driver. Having a parent or mentor help you through the car-buying process is wise since it can be overwhelming and daunting.
After getting your learner's permit, there are still a few steps to complete to get fully licensed. Knowing local laws, such as Florida's laws on purchasing a car with a learner's permit, will help make the process smoother.
Video of the Day
Florida Learner's Permit
Florida learner's permits have a few requirements. You must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner's permit. You'll need to pass a vision exam and a written knowledge test before you are officially issued your permit. Another course you'll need to complete is the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. When applying for the permit, you'll also need to provide proof of Florida residency and your Social Security number. Look into good student discounts when it comes to looking for auto insurance, says the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
Once you've completed these requirements, you'll need to pass a driving skills test. Once you officially have your learner's permit in Florida, you can only drive during daylight hours. There are other restrictions, including that you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, and that older person must be in the front passenger seat. You're also not allowed to drive on any Florida toll roads or bridges.
Purchasing a Car With a Learner's Permit
Now that you know the requirements and restrictions for learner's permits in Florida, it's time to learn about the Florida laws on purchasing a car with a learner's permit. The process of purchasing a car with a Florida learner's permit is not much different than if you had a driver's license. Keep in mind that even though you can purchase a car with a learner's permit, you cannot finance or lease a car until you have a Florida driver's license. Dealerships have the right to refuse to finance if the individual does not have a valid license.
When you go to purchase a car, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation encourages you to do thorough research. The dealership will need to see your Florida learner's permit and proof of insurance. The insurance must be in your name and must meet Florida's minimum coverage requirements. You will also need to have a parent or guardian sign the sales contract with you since you are not of legal age to sign contracts.
How to Get Car Insurance Without a License
If you're looking to get car insurance without a Florida driver's license, there are a few things you'll need to do. The first thing you'll need is a Florida learner's permit. You'll also need to have the title or registration certificate for the car you're insuring. Florida law requires that all drivers fulfill at least the minimum liability insurance requirements, which will protect them in case of an accident. You can get this insurance through a Florida-licensed agent or company.
Once you have the items, you'll need to find an insurance company willing to insure you without a Florida driver's license. Locating a company like this may be difficult, as most companies will not insure drivers without a valid driver's license. However, a few companies specialize in insuring high-risk drivers. These companies may be willing to insure you without a Florida driver's license.
Another option that most teens use is to get added to their parent or legal guardian's insurance policy. While the rates will be higher for teen drivers, you must have insurance to drive a car in Florida.