What Are the Denominations of the Euro in Paper & Coins?

Close-up of Euro paper and coins
Image Credit: RomoloTavani/iStock/Getty Images

The euro is the single currency used by the majority of members of the European Union. Prior to its introduction in 2002, a European vacation used to require multiple currency changes, often leading to confusion. Euro coins and banknotes are standardized and the countries that accept them are collectively known as the eurozone. As not all members of the European Union use the euro, so travelers should check the requirements of their destinations prior to changing currency.


Paper Money

Euro banknotes are produced in seven different denominations: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. Each denomination has a distinct color and size to assist in identification. Although euro banknotes are printed at multiple locations throughout the eurozone, the design and color of the bills is always identical.


Video of the Day

Euro Coins

Euro coins are produced in eight different denominations: €1, €2, 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent and 50 cent. The side of each coin that displays its value is identical regardless of where the coin was minted, but designs for the opposite side are unique to the issuing country. Even so, any euro coin can be used to pay for goods or services anywhere within the eurozone.





Report an Issue

screenshot of the current page

Screenshot loading...