List of Small States

Magnifying class over map of east coast
Image Credit: Popartic/iStock/Getty Images

Though small in size, even the tiniest of the United States have big things to offer. From the 144 newspapers published in Connecticut to the fact that Rhode Island never ratified the 18th Amendment and the fact that Hawaii was ruled by a queen prior to 1900, these states are not to be overlooked. In fact, each of the states have much to offer and they are crucial pieces to the rich and vibrant history of the United States of America.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is the smallest state in the United States. At 1,045 square miles, according to, it is about half the size of the next largest state, but still larger than Washington, D.C. --which is a district, not a state. Rhode Island's small size doesn't diminish its long, jagged coastline, which also earns it the nickname "The Ocean State." Rhode Island also has the longest official name of any one of the 50 states: The State of Rhode Island and the Providence Plantations.


Delaware if the second smallest state at 1,954 square miles, according to the WorldAtlas website, which still makes it nearly twice the size of Rhode Island. Delaware also borders the Atlantic Ocean. On December 7, 1787, Delaware ratified the Constitution to became the first state in the union. The state nickname, The First State, fits with the state motto: Liberty and Independence. Delaware recognizes many official state symbols, including an official drink (milk), an official dessert (peach pie) and even a state star, known as Delaware Diamond and located in the constellation Ursa Major.


Connecticut's 4,845 square foot area makes it the third smallest U.S. state, according to the World Atlas website. Along with portions of New York and New Jersey, it makes up the tri-state area surrounding New York City. Connecticut was an important site for the American Revolution, housing the depot of Danbury. Prior to colonization, modern-day Connecticut was home to the Tunxis Tribe, which was part of the Algonquin federation. The modern capital of Hartford gained that status in 1875.


The state of Hawaii is the fourth smallest state, and the smallest not located in the New England or Mid-Atlantic regions. Its islands have a combined area of 6,423 square miles, according to WorldAtlas. The Hawaiian islands include Niihau, Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Lanai, Molokai, Kauai and Kaho' olawe. Hawaii is the youngest state, entering the union on August 21, 1959. Besides English, Hawaii recognizes Hawaiian as an official state language. Its remote Pacific location gives it its own time zone that no other state shares.